Spoiler Alert Free Today

Spoiler Alert is free to download in the Google Play store today! If you haven’t heard of it, this is the one-button platformer I worked on a couple of years back and it’s great, silly fun. It’s essentially Mario, but you play the game backwards, stomping crushed enemies back to life and placing coins neatly back where you found them.

Oh, and your character is a talking chilli pepper wearing a knight’s helmet.

This is actually the first time I’ve got my hands on the Android version myself, and I have to say I’m very impressed. It’s hard to say whether the differences I’ve noticed are down to the touch controls or whether Megafuzz have simply updated the game since I last had a go, but it all feels very elegant. The desktop version technically used two buttons – one to jump and one to un-unleash powerup abilities – but in the mobile version they’re condensed into a simple screen-tap. I’ve played through the entirety of World 3 now and I can’t say I miss the desktop controls at all.

My main contribution, Mr. Deathbunny, has had his boss battle more or less cut, but you can still see him in all his gross, pink shouty glory. If you’ve got an Android device, that alone should be more than enough reason to grab the free version now, though even if you miss it the price is ordinarily just 65p and I’d say that’s money well spent. The game has had overwhelmingly positive reviews and even appeared in the Humble Bundle at one point, reaching something like 83,000 people in the process.

I don’t get royalties from this, by the way: I’m just happy to have had a hand in a neat little game and want it to reach as many people as it can. So grab your free copy and tell your friends!

Leave a Reply

