Craft Keep Coming November 10th!

You might recall Craft Keep VR from my writeup of EGX 2016, where I was lucky enough to try out the virtual reality fantasy artisan game first hand. Well, there’s some exciting follow-up news. First of all, Craft Keep is coming to Steam Early Access on the 10th of November: that’s less than a week away!

Second, I’m writing this thing! At EGX I got talking to the developer, Arvydas Žemaitis, who said that he was looking to include an interesting story as the player travels about setting up shop in all these weird and wonderful locations around the world. Naturally I sent off an email about it after the event, and here we are!

I don’t want to spoil anything about the game – especially while it’s still not even in Early Access quite yet – but I think it’s safe to say that it takes place in a light-hearted fantasy setting that will probably appeal to anyone who’s been following my flash fiction over the years. It struck me when I was playing Craft Keep at EGX that it was just my kind of thing, so I’m unbelievably happy to be contributing to it now. Not just as a writer, but as someone who’s personally set up shop selling chainmail in various different places. The whole project is pretty much perfect for me.

Craft Keep uses room-scale VR, meaning that you can actually walk around in the game world, stepping from your counter to your furnace and anvil just as you would in real space (though don’t worry if you don’t have oodles of room, because you’re never obliged to go very far). In order to play it, you’ll need an HTC Vive VR headset and a fairly powerful PC (system requirements are available on the Steam page). I realise not all that many people will be in that kind of position (I’m certainly not!), so I’ll do my best to share gameplay videos as they become available. You might also be interested in UploadVR’s early review. Finally, if you’re just itching to get your hands on this but have no way of running it, you might also like its predecessor, Shoppe Keep. I’ve been playing it myself to get a feel for the world of Craft Keep as it stands now, and I’ve got to say it’s a lot of fun!

Of course, if you do have the hardware necessary to have a go at Craft Keep itself, I’d love to hear from you. The whole point of Early Access is for players to help shape the game, so if you let me know what you think I’ll do my best to make this thing the best that it can be.

6 comments

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2016 | Damon L. Wakes
  2. ipsenscastle

    Wow that’s awesome! I was just reading a story about this on Kotaku or Polygon the other day, I’m sure your writing will really shine in it! In terms of games that feel like flash fic, CrowsCrowsCrows have been releasing some stuff for free recently that I think you’d really enjoy, the last one, ‘Accounting’ was in VR too! =)

    • Damon L. Wakes

      The game’s out! 😀 http://store.steampowered.com/app/546350/ The first barrage of YouTube videos looks hugely promising, too: some really funny stuff.

      I hadn’t heard of CrowsCrowsCrows before, but I’ve just subscribed to their mailing list. Unfortunately I’m not really equipped to play VR stuff myself, but what I saw on their site was pretty attention-grabbing in itself. I’m curious to see what else they do.

  3. Pingback: Brighton Global Game Jam 2017 | Damon L. Wakes

Leave a Reply

