Ten Little Astronauts – Milestone Rewards

You might recall that I promised to release My Name Algernona never-before-seen work of interactive science fiction – if Ten Little Astronauts reached 25% of its goal by the end of September. Well, that hasn’t happened. Partly I think that might be because I underestimated how much of an influence the initial surge of pledges had on the book’s overall progress so far (20% would probably have been the target to go for), and partly it’s because I made trips to both Torquay and Birmingham this month and being out of town left me with a lot to catch up on. Book-wise, not a whole lot happened while I was otherwise occupied.

Ultimately, it looks like it’s mainly up to me to get the word out about the book, and with that being the case it seems a shame to have rewards for supporters depend on how much I can do in any given month. Instead, I figure it’s best to simply break the big 100% goal down into nice, manageable 5% chunks with a bonus for supporters each time we reach one. My Name Algernon will still go out at 25%, but there’ll also be something else at 20%, coming up imminently!

I figure this’ll help keep things moving – get your friends on board and you’ll all be that much closer to getting some neat stuff – without having to make it all-or-nothing each time. It also has the added bonus that if things go especially well, the bonus rewards will come out extra quickly: they won’t be limited to just one a month!

So that’s the plan from now on. Just a handful of pledges is all that’s needed to take Ten Little Astronauts up to 20%, so that first milestone reward could be out very quickly. My plan is to make it an audio version of the first chapter of the book – already finished besides a final polish – so if that sounds like something you’d like to get hold of, pledge your support if you haven’t already and tell your friends if you have!

Leave a Reply

