Camp NaNoWriMo and Free Face of Glass

Camp_logo

I’m planning to tackle Camp NaNoWriMo in April, so this seems as good an opportunity to offer everybody one last chance to get my 2012 NaNoWriMo novel, Face of Glass, for free. I’m doing this as part of a Virtual Book Fair, which ends tomorrow (March 3rd, 2016). After that, the book will only be available through the usual (bookstore) channels.

But back to the main thing: Camp NaNoWriMo. Though I’ve participated in (and finished) the main November event three times now, I’ve never even attempted one of the camps before. Partly that’s because the timing isn’t as convenient (they run in April and July, and my Julys have other commitments), partly because the idea of setting my own word count goal just doesn’t appeal as much as tackling a straightforward 50,000 word novel.

However, this year I’ve already got a project in mind (and subscribers to my newsletter may already be able to guess what that might be). It’s unlikely this project will warrant a word count of 50,000 words, so in this case the set-your-own goal works out just fine. If nothing else, I’ll be glad to have NaNoWriMo’s word count statistics available to me, since they do a great job of making it obvious how productive you’ve been so far, and how much more you need to put in to hit your target by the end of the month.

Is anybody else planning to tackle this event? I gather that one key difference between the November NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo is that writers are sorted into cabins. Though I’m quite happy to just shuffle myself into a random one, it would be good to team up with people I already know.

One comment

Leave a Reply

