New Year, New Decisions

I’ve never really been a fan of New Year’s resolutions. They seem like a handy excuse for putting off doing anything until January 1st, and later on a handy excuse for giving up for ten months when you fail spectacularly in early March.

That said, starting something at the beginning of a new year does make it easy to set up a schedule, and so on this occasion I’ll be joining in too. My New Year’s not-resolution is to write a game article a week. At the moment I’m hoping to make most of them reviews of specific titles, but I’ve also got plenty of ideas for articles about game design and mechanics. Most likely there’ll be a fair bit of crossover between the two. The main thing I’ve settled on at this point is that whatever they are, there’ll be 52 of them by the end of the year. Or at the very least, there’ll be a dozen-ish by early March.

In the past it’s proven difficult to keep up weekly or even fortnightly updates. Beyond the Black Throne became problematic partly because I was juggling it with an MA course that steadily demanded more and more of my attention, but also because the interactive format made for tight deadlines and more or less eliminated the possibility of building up “buffer” updates that I could write ahead of time and post when necessary. Producing images and animation to illustrate the story—however hilariously amateurish those things were—also took a lot of planning and ate up a lot of time.

The Lash of Khgharghag

I sure hope this doesn’t end up being the preview image for this blog post.

I’m still planning to pick up the story again at some point, but in the interests of producing something on a regular basis and building up my games-related portfolio, I feel as though the reviews are a safer bet for the time being. For one thing, I’ve already played through a bunch of games that I’d like to write about, which means I’m already halfway towards having a “buffer” ready. For another, games (even if they’re primarily text-based) offer the possibility of illustrating a post with screenshots, which don’t take too much effort on my part.

My Epistory review was remarkably quick to put together.

I expect it’ll take a while to play through anything I’m going to write about, which isn’t a challenge I had to face with Beyond the Black Throne, but at the same time that seems more compatible with my job at the moment than responding to reader suggestions and fiddling about with paper cut-outs. I could happily fit in the button-mashing after a day at work, then write the actual article on one of my days off. Combined with the buffer posts, that should ensure I’m able to keep these things regular.

But beyond that particular goal for the year, I’ve got another decision to make. I’ve still got access to the university recording equipment, and while that’s the case I want to make the most of it. However, that’ll mostly mean recording things I’ve already written, and I’d quite like to keep producing new stories at the same time. So here’s a question for you:

“New, experimental things” at the moment will likely involve audio, video, or interactive fiction. They’re by no means limited to that, though.

In any case, I’ll be doing a little bit of both either way. If you’re curious to see something a little different from me, I hope to have some recordings done in the not too distant future (and perhaps some 3D printed things too). If you want conventional stories, I’ll be including a brand new one in each of my monthly newsletters.

Happy New Year!

4 comments

    • Damon L. Wakes

      That’s strange: it shows up fine for me, and at least one person has successfully voted. Have the polls been showing up in the past?

      If all else fails, feel free just to cast your vote in a comment. It’s just as good.

  1. ameliamackenzie

    My new year’s resolution was, briefly, going to be to write more blog posts. Then I considered that I could put that time into writing my actual book and changed my mind.

    Maybe I should do a blog post explaining why I’m going to be so absent in 2016 …

    Looking forward to seeing more weird and wonderful stuff from you this year! (I voted experimental, of course. :p)

    • Damon L. Wakes

      That was one of my mid-year resolutions at one point, and I actually feel as though it worked out okay creatively. I’d have felt weird just posting photos of my lunch, so it was a reason to keep coming up with new things to write. But if you’ve got a book to be working on, that’s reason enough already.

      There’ll be at least some weird and wonderful stuff regardless of the poll results, you’ll be glad to know. XD

Leave a Reply

