Girth Loinhammer’s Most Exponential Adventure

It’s Day One of National Novel Writing Month, and so far I’m on track to reach my goal of a 100,000 word interactive story by the end of November. At this rate I’m actually expecting to exceed the word goal by a considerable margin, but only because it’s proving more challenging to keep passages short than to let them grow to however long they need.

I got the idea for this story while on the way to a Halloween event yesterday, so it’s maybe not as well planned out as it could be. Still, with 16 of the 512 planned alternate endings already finished, it seems to be going smoothly so far.

The Lash of Khgharghag

Find the work-in-progress here, if you dare.

It’s worth noting that I’m prioritising complete storylines over early branches, so at the time of writing your only option for the first five passages is to sit in the dungeon moping. However, there is already a lot of variety after that point. Enough that I hope people won’t be disappointed by this very early version of the work.

Also, if you’re doing NaNoWriMo yourself and would like to add me as a buddy, my profile is here.

4 comments

  1. ipsenscastle

    I read all the current endings, they’re all fantastic! My favourite at the moment is definitely the close encounters one =)

    • Damon L. Wakes

      It’s a fun (if daunting) one to write. I’m looking forward to finishing as well, though it’s pretty early to be thinking about that! But since it doesn’t rely on variables, I could in theory turn it into a traditional gamebook. Possibly even a paperback (though it’d probably be pretty big).

Leave a Reply

