Book Fair Goodies

Book Fair GoodiesWith the Hampshire Writers’ Society Gala Evening just a week away, my table space is more or less sorted. I’ve got multiple copies of all my paperbacks, with the Flash Fiction Month anthologies all lined up on one display and all the Face of Glass copies on another. You wouldn’t think that hours of experience selling handmade jewellery or shelving videogames would ever help with preparation for a literary event, but actually putting these displays together felt like a little of both!

In addition to the paperbacks, I’ve also assembled some new discs. The Face of Glass CDs aren’t actually new: I tend to have them on hand at craft events. However, most of the ones here are freshly assembled as my original batch had been whittled down to the last two.

Face of Glass Case

These Face of Glass discs contain both the ebook itself in multiple formats, and audio recordings of The Three Tales from the novel. I’ve now assembled a desktop computer that makes burning the discs considerably simpler, and (though a somewhat smaller investment) I’ve got a set of scalpels and a cutting mat that make for some very neat case inserts.

Face of Glass Disc

The process of putting together these ebook CDs is now straightforward enough that I’ve also brought out a very small number of Flash Fiction Month discs. The ebooks are still free to download, but I figure that for anybody who wants a token physical version the disc could be a fun option. The colour scheme of the covers looks pretty good laid out this way, and the clear clamshell cases do a good job of showing it off.

FFM Discs

ObsidianI’ve still got a few more bits and bobs I’d like to sort out, but with the books on hand and the discs put together, I think the display is just about ready to go. I’m even planning to bring along a couple of chunks of raw obsidian to place alongside Face of Glass, since it’s always interesting to be able to connect the imaginary world of a book to something more tangible. I had the larger of the two stones on hand most of the time I was first writing Face of Glass, and though most of the actual research into Stone Age cultures came through books, museums or the internet, having that one bit of black glass to hand was useful too. It’s a fascinating material, both beautiful and practical, and seen in person it’s not hard to imagine why it developed ritual significance.

If you’re interested in turning up, the Gala Evening starts at 6pm on the 9th of June, in the Stripe Building at the University of Winchester. Further information is available on the Hampshire Writers’ Society events page. Their website also lists all the authors who’ll be at the members’ Book Fair alongside me.

4 comments

    • Damon L. Wakes

      Hi Tony,

      I’m afraid I don’t yet have an audiobook as such. If you mean the Face of Glass disc, there is an audio version of The Three Tales (with a runtime of about 40 minutes altogether), but not the entire novel (which is provided as a text ebook). However, both the book and the audio were included on the Selected Stories disc I brought to the Winchester Writers’ Festival last year, so if you’ve got that then you’ll already have the material on this one. Similarly, two of the three Flash Fiction Month ebooks are on Selected Stories as well (and the third, Bionic Punchline, is downloadable free online).

      If you’re interested in either of these new discs regardless, I’ll be at the Writers’ Festival in person again later this month, or I could arrange to post them. If you like, I can also let you know when I do get some kind of audiobook together: I’m actually sorting out the equipment for it right now (though a complete, polished selection of recordings could still be some way off).

      Regards,
      Damon

Leave a Reply

