A Bold Stratagem

Flash Fiction Month 2014, Day 5

Challenge #3: Write a piece of historical fiction. Also, your story should include an event from July 5th in history.

July 5th, 1944:

They will give me the Dickin Medal for this.

I have intercepted a report indicating that reinforcements are to be sent to the 4th Army, east of Mogilev. I cannot allow that to happen. Though my actions in Berlin have drawn a significant amount of attention already, I am determined to hold my position. The ground I have chosen to make my stand is exposed. Every day, things get a little more uncomfortable. The enemy is just feet away. But I will persevere.

I will prevail.

 

“Aww.”

“Mein Fuhrer?”

“I was going to write important Nazi stuff, but there’s a cat sitting on my typewriter.”

“Can’t you just shove it off?”

 

I sense the tide of battle is shifting. New tactics are required. I lick my paw and use it to wipe my face. A bold stratagem.

 

“No, I…I’ll probably just find another typewriter.”


If you’ve enjoyed this story, you can find my work from Flash Fiction Month 2012 and 2013 collected in OCR is Not the Only Font and Red Herring respectively.

4 comments

    • Damon Wakes

      It seems that he was. However, some internet digging suggests that he may have had a cat named Schnitzel at some point, and definitely painted a cat on at least one occasion.

      All in all, my guess is that he didn’t outright dislike cats, as some sources claim. It’s very much a guess, though: at this point it’s hard to tell what’s real, what was just propaganda at the time, and what’s been made up since the full scale of his crimes became understood.

Leave a Reply

